Communities can use a wide variety of policy tools to incentivize or require the Energy and Zero Carbon Step Code. On this page, we’re outlining how local governments are putting the standard to work.

Note: The following list is for convenience only and may not be up to date. Please visit the website of your Authority Having Jurisdiction for up-to-date requirements for the BC Energy and Zero Carbon Step Code. 

Local governments who wish to be added to this list may email

Local adoption of the Zero Carbon Step Code

So far, 29 local governments reference the Zero Carbon Step Code for new construction. These jurisdictions represent a wide range of climate zones and population sizes throughout B.C.’s south coast, Vancouver Island, and Okanagan regions.

These include:

As of January 2024, it is estimated that 44 per cent of all new residential units in large multi-family buildings (e.g., mid-rise and high-rise) and 30 per cent of all new units in small residential buildings (e.g., low-rise and ground-oriented dwellings) will be built in municipalities that have already adopted the ZCSC or equivalent regulations.

City of Vancouver

The City of Vancouver has its own building code, and therefore has different requirements for energy efficiency and greenhouse gas emissions. However, there are some technical similarities.

Early adopters of the BC Energy Step Code (archive)

Many local governments referenced the BC Energy Step Code before it became a minimum requirement for most new construction in B.C.  Read the archived list of early adopters in PDF.

Page last updated: April 15, 2024